Use the links below to order the books I review via Bookshop.org

One for Sorrow by Helen Fields | Book Review





One for Sorrow by Helen Fields 
due for release March 2022

Pre-order a copy here

Thank you to the author and to Avon Books for sending me this proof copy. 

Description 

'Breathtaking - I defy anyone to read this and come away unaffected. Perfectly plotted...I devoured it and can't stop thinking about it.' -Bestselling author Susi Holliday Bestselling crime author Helen Fields is back with her best book yet. A masterful crime thriller that is set to be the most memorable read of 2022.

One for sorrow, two for joy. Edinburgh is gripped by the greatest terror it has ever known. A lone bomber is targeting victims across the city and no one is safe. Three for a girl, four for a boy. DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach face death every day - and not just the deaths of the people being taken hostage by the killer.

Five for silver, six for gold. When it becomes clear that with every tip-off they are walking into a trap designed to kill them too, Ava and Luc know that finding the truth could mean paying the ultimate price. Seven for a secret never to be told... But with the threat - and body count - rising daily, and no clue as to who's behind it, neither Ava nor Luc know whether they will live long enough to tell the tale...

With twists and turns you'll never see coming, prepare to be gripped by this devastatingly good thriller. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and MJ Arlidge. 'An emotionally charged and superbly gripping thriller that kept me turning those page until the early hours! Masterly plotted, not to be missed.' - Jane Isaac, author of An Unfamiliar Murder 'Grabs you at page one and holds on like a police dog tackling a suspect.

Sometimes shocking, often gruesome, always gripping. Ten for thrills!' - Douglas Skelton, author of The Blood is Still 'An incredible, heartbreaking, terror-filled, pulse-in-throat thriller. So brilliantly plotted, clever, slick and so, so dark.' - bestselling author Cressida McLaughlin.

Review 

An absolutely brilliant piece of crime fiction full of twists and turns that kept me guessing from the first page until the last. 

It is rare these days for me to read a book and not have guessed the outcome, this one was so well written that it just had me guessing the whole time. There were so many different possibilities floating around my head, it really got my imagination working over time which I loved. When I finally thought I had it, it twisted and shocked me again. 

The way the author switches point of view from current to 'before' through the chapters was very clever, it worked well for the unveiling of the storyline. I loved how the time lines came together towards the end, brilliantly done. 

I loved the characters and felt connected to them, especially Quinn, gosh I went through a rollercoaster of emotions reading the parts about her. Without giving too much away, I spotted the warning signs early on with that situation, It was difficult to read in parts I think because it felt so real and I just wanted to jump in and help Quinn. I honestly wanted to jump in the book and give Liam a good talking too (or punch in the face!) The fact I was so immersed in the story and felt the way I did just goes to show how powerful the authors writing was, I forgot I was reading at points and felt like I was there watching.

It wasn't until after I read the book and went to put my review on Goodreads that I found out this is No7 in a series about DI Callanach, this shocked me to be honest as it works so well as a stand alone I didn't feel lost at any point or like I needed to know the back story even though it hinted towards it throughout. I'm definitely going to be finding the other books now and starting from the beginning to see if it gives this one a whole new feel. 

If you are looking for crime fiction, something action packed that will keep you guessing then i highly recommend this one. 

Trigger warnings: Suicide, death, 

Side note: This book would make a blooming brilliant action packed film too! Netflix or someone needs to snap it up fast. 

Rating 

5 Stars 

Thanks again to Avon Books and to Helen Fields the author for sending me this proof copy. 




Comments