Use the links below to order the books I review via Bookshop.org

The Daughters Choice by S.D. Robertson | Book Review



Description
The exciting new novel from the bestselling author of My Sister's Lies. Is her whole life built on a lie? Rose has always been close to her father. Her mother died soon after she was born, so it's been just the two of them for as long as she can remember.

But a chance encounter days before she's due to get married leaves Rose questioning everything she has ever known. The man she trusts most in the world has been keeping a secret from her. And the truth will leave her with an impossible choice...

An emotional family drama about the secrets we keep from those closest to us, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Susan Lewis. Readers love The Daughter's Choice:

'A page-turning, emotional rollercoaster I found difficult to put down' Samantha Tonge, bestselling author of The Summer Island Swap
'What a book! Really enjoyable.' NetGalley Reviewer
'Had me guessing until the end.' NetGalley Reviewer
'An emotional read. Highly recommended.' NetGalley Reviewer
'Heartbreaking and emotional. 
I could not put it down.' NetGalley Reviewer
'Gripped me from the very first page and didn't let me go.' NetGalley Reviewer
'I always look forward to reading any new book by S.D. Robertson and this one certainly didn't disappoint.' NetGalley Reviewer


My Review 

'An emotional yet enjoyable read' 

So I'll be honest, like I always am. This one didn't really grab me at the start. I was initially drawn in only to find myself struggling to be interested when the writing style changed to one I'm not familiar with. The story is told as if the protagonists are talking to each other but its so heavily detailed and drawn out it feels over embellished for what is supposed to be discussion between characters. Once I got over this issue though, looked past the new style of story telling that I hadn't yet become accustomed to I did actually start to enjoy the story and enjoy the writing. So top tip, if you like me find the style at first a little different and off putting don't give up. Keep going! 

After a few more chapters I got into it, I'm so glad I didn't stop. I really enjoyed the content, and once I was past my initial concerns the writing too. It was obviously well researched as the travel element was very well detailed. I really felt like I got to know the two main characters personalities well. 

Did I guess the ending? Well yes, I guessed the main plot but there were some other interesting twists that I didn't guess and the fact that I had guessed the main plot right from the offset and was pretty sure I knew what was coming didn't mean I enjoyed reading it any less. I like the ending too, it rounded the story off nicely. 

I will certainly be on the look out now for other S.D Robertson titles to try. 

Thank you to Avon Books, Harper Collins and S.D Robertson for gifting me this proof copy in exchange for an honest review. 

My Rating 

3.5 / 4 stars 

This title is available to purchase from Betty's Books, click here for more information. 



 

Comments